Atop of the Peak! Bighorns win first Fraser Cup Championship | North American Tier III Hockey League | NA3HL
North American 3 Hockey League logo North American 3 Hockey League
A Step Above the Rest NAHL Combines NAHL USA Hockey T1ER NAPHL

Atop of the Peak! Bighorns win first Fraser Cup Championship

March 24, 2024

The Helena Bighorns claimed the Fraser Cup Championship title for the first time in franchise history after beating the Northeast Generals by a score of 2-1. 

In the first period, Matthew Nuzzolilo (13:02) scored the lone Northeast goal on a shot from the left hashmark. In the second period, Jack Lambert (8:47) came in clutch to tie the game 1-1 with help from Ty Moore on the assist. Moore fired the puck from the high slot and beat Daniel Antal on the far right corner. The third period saw another game winning goal from Patrick Crooks (15:59), who was the hero in the semifinal round. Crooks found a rebound to the left side of the net and was assisted by Cai Robinson and Owen Ramsay for a 2-1 final. Bighorns netminder Jesse Schindel was fantastic in the Championship game stopping 17 shots. 

The Bighorns were also the first team from Frontier Division to win the Fraser Cup Championship. 

NA3HL Fraser Cup All-Tournament Team

Forward: Patrick Crooks, Helena Bighorns (Most Valuable Player)

Forward: Jack Lambert, Helena Bighorns

Forward: Braden Cunningham, Helena Bighorns

Defense: Joe Greniuk, Granite City Lumberjacks

Defense: Owen Locke, Northeast Generals 

Goaltender: Jesse Schindel, Helena Bighorns 

All-Time Fraser Cup Champions

2024 Helena Bighorns

2023 Granite City Lumberjacks

2022 Rochester Grizzlies

2021 North Iowa Bulls

2020 Event Canceled

2019 Texas Brahmas

2018 Metro Jets

2017 Granite City Lumberjacks

2016 North Iowa Bulls

2015 Granite City Lumberjacks

2014 North Iowa Bulls

2013 North Iowa Bulls

2012 Granite City Lumberjacks

2011 Chicago Hitmen

2010 St. Louis Jr. Blues

2009 Dubuque Thunderbirds

2008 Dubuque Thunderbirds

2007 Dubuque Thunderbirds

2006 St. Louis Jr. Blues

2005 St. Louis Jr. Blues

2004 St. Louis Jr. Blues

2003 St. Louis Jr. Blues

2002 Metro Jets

2001 Metro Jets

2000 St. Louis Jr. Blues

1999 Toledo Cherokee

1998 Motor City Chiefs

1997 Toledo Cherokee

1996 Motor City Chiefs

1995 Toledo Cherokee

1994 St. Louis Jr. Blues

1993 Wayne Chiefs

1992 Downriver Blades

1991 Wayne Chiefs

1990 Metro Jets

1989 Lytes Rustlers

1988 St. Louis Jr. Blues


Bauer True Temper Hockey USA Hockey
USPA Hockeyak Warroad Howies Hockey Tape Lettermen Sports DASH Digital Auction Showdown K1 Sportswear Official Game Puck
HockeyWolf Bethel University Avis Car Rental Budget Car Rental Ace Rent A Car
Neutral Zone CaptainU NSC Super Rink Source One Digital
Let's Play Hockey Let's Play Hockey USA Hockey Magazine MYHockey Rankings